New Twitter Email Metric: Tweet Views

Twitter seems to have added a new feature to its email options. Today I received a message with the subject “doctorlaura, check out your week on Twitter.”

Twitter Top Tweets Email Snap

In the body of the message it said “See which of your Tweets helped you make connections, got people excited, and started your friends talking.” Then it summarized my Tweet views, retweets and replies.

This is the first time I’ve seen Twitter display Tweet views. They’re not available in the timeline, and I haven’t found any mention of this new feature elsewhere.

I’m curious to know how Twitter calculates the number of views, which doesn’t seem like an easy problem.

Update: It has been pointed out that Twitter gives such statistics on its ad platform. The interesting thing here is that this is the first time I’ve seen Tweet views being reported for regular users.

This entry was posted in Social Media, Twitter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Twitter Email Metric: Tweet Views

  1. Ben says:

    Hi doctorlaura

    Any idea what to do when the “check out your week on Twitter” notifications stop all of a sudden? I cannot find any info on Twitter helpdesk and it is not under the settings either – all my notifications are ticket but the “check out” email has gone MIA

    Is there any other site that can provide the same analytics ?

    • laura says:

      I have no idea. Come to think of it, I haven’t gotten my email in a while either. Maybe they’ve discontinued this feature.

  2. richfinck says:

    Got the email and bookmarked it. Interesting. I like numbers so it fell into place for me.

  3. Pingback: A Product Manager’s Guide to Building Relationships on Social Media « The Klout Blog The Official Klout Blog

  4. chimera8 says:

    I wonder what they mean by “view”. Does that mean your tweet or retweet figured in someone’s feed? If it did, that doesn’t mean anyone actually viewed it much less read it. I wonder what they are counting. If you know, please post your answer here.

Leave a Reply

