Tech Takes Backseat To Cars At The Geneva Motor Show

Last weekend I spent a few hours at the Geneva Motor Show. For a number of years, it was an annual pilgrimage for me, but it’s been a year or two since the last time I went. I hadn’t planned to do a post about this, but I saw a few things that I thought were interesting enough to share.

Overall I didn’t notice many changes at the show. The hall was quite crowded on a sunny Sunday afternoon. I thought there was less of a throng downstairs around the professional stands for accessories and tools than in years past, but PalExpo seems to have changed the traffic flow, so it was difficult to tell if there were fewer people there or if they were just entering the hall at a different place.

I had expected to see some interesting tech following the press from this year’s CES where automotive solutions were one of the big stories of the show. Although some of that technology was on display, it was relegated to a supporting role.

I had a chance to finally see and sit in a Tesla.

IMG_4919

One of the booth hosts told us it takes a full 8 hours to charge the battery for an autonomy of 500km. He also said there are already 500 Teslas on the roads here in Switzerland. Things apparently come in 500’s with Tesla. I didn’t take a picture, but the interior was spacious and the dashboard is an LCD. The console is a generous touch screen, which seems to be about A4 paper sized. The screen was crisp and should be an excellent display for maps and navigation.

Citroën used a similar approach for the interior design of the Cactus (what a weird name for a car), but this affordable model car has a minimalist interior that just seemed cheap.

IMG_4934

Nothing more than a tablet mounted on the console. I’d almost rather just have a docking station where I could put my own tablet running the Cactus app. Note too the big buttons for Drive, Reverse and Neutral. I didn’t ask how you put the thing in PARK.

The Cactus got a lot of floor space so I suppose they’re expecting this to appeal to a big market.

IMG_4935

They even had an adventure version on display, but this one is just a concept.

IMG_4939

Finally, the most interesting thing I saw was another concept, the EDAG Genesis. This is a 3D printed sculpture of a one-man vehicle.

I thought it was a stunning look at how additive manufacturing technology could bring new ideas to automotive design. Imagine, if one day, people can 3D print their own cars. What will we see at the Geneva Motor Show then?

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tech Takes Backseat To Cars At The Geneva Motor Show

  1. richfinck says:

    You are one lucky lady. I haven’t even seen a Tesla in person. I’d give my left arm for one. One of these days I’m going to one of the auto shows. I think I will attempt to see the one in Detroit. I’d really like to check out Woodward Avenue on a weekend night also. Elon is the only one to get it right as a total package, in my opinion. Those Google self driving cars, also catch my interest. High tech is coming to the auto industry. Thanks for your report. In answer to your question, I have no idea and my imagination doesn’t go that far.

Leave a Reply

