Is Facebook Planning To Screen Identities?

It was on one of the overhead monitors at the gym last week. I didn’t see the whole thing. I don’t remember which channel it was on. Probably CNN International or Bloomberg TV. I thought it was a Facebook commercial, but maybe it was a commercial for something else. Maybe it wasn’t a commercial at all.

I can’t tell you exactly what I saw. As I recall, there was a screen flow of typing an account name on Facebook. The name was obviously a pseudonym, and after typing it, what seemed like a red error message or alert appeared. It said something like “false name.” Then there was a date. I think it said February 21st.

I had assumed this was a Facebook new policy announcement, and I found it significant that they were advertising it via a commercial on TV. Since I haven’t been able to find any mention of this on the web, I now question that interpretation. I did lots of Google searches and checked Facebook blogs, developer pages and several related independent blogs.

Perhaps what I saw was just a news story about the recent reports of Instagram and Facebook users being asked to submit government issued photo ids, but I’m not convinced. I don’t know what this means. If I see it again, I’ll post an update.

This entry was posted in Facebook, Privacy, Social Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Facebook Planning To Screen Identities?

  1. ric day says:

    Lots of luck with that, if Facebook actually intends to try screening. Google tried it with G+ and infamously shut down the account of Violet Blue (real name of a high profile American journalist) on the grounds it was “obviously fake.”

  2. richfinck says:

    Must admit I’m still on FB. I’m trusting them less the more I read & hear. Good luck to me. haha

Leave a Reply

