Hey YouTube, I Don’t Want To Use My Full Name

It’s been a while since I logged in to my personal YouTube account, but when I did so a little while ago, I found out that YouTube wants me to start using my full name.

I hadn’t heard about this before, but it looks like they’re finally aggregating information from my different accounts to suggest that I use my full name as I entered it on my now defunct Google+ account.

Fortunately, I was able to decline and continue using my username for now. However, when I clicked “I don’t want to use my full name,” I had to pass through one more hurdle before continuing to my home page.

Sadly, I suspect this is just the first step. It may become harder and harder to keep using my username in the future.

This entry was posted in Google, Internet, Privacy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

